World of Pageantry

World of Pageantry

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: How hard were concert band auditions?
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:11 am 

Just comparing schools here...Mine were pretty easy. Basically, if I weren't playing bari, I'd be on first alto. In symphonic. And I'm a freshman...Maybe it's just me...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 11:59 am 
Veteran
Veteran

First off, I would like to welcome you to the World of Pageantry Forums, seeing that this is your first post. :D Now back to the topic:

For our auditions, it usually went pretty well if you knew your scales, rudiments (for drummers), and you can sight read well.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 12:21 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

we have to knoe 48 scales.
and play a piece.
this year: postcard.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 2:38 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

48 scales...wow! For our auditions (when and if we have them) we're asked to play scales to the best of our ability and I believe also a section of music from the piece we're playing. I'm not quite sure though because I haven't had to audition before.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 4:04 pm 
Veteran
Veteran

Here's what our groups have to play, Hoshwa mentioned part, but I'll expand:

Symphonic Band:
• 12 Major Scales & 12 Natural Minor Scales
• Audition Piece

Wind Symphony:
• 12 Major Scales, 12 Natural Minor Scales and 12 Harmonic Minor Scales
• Audition Piece (Deerpath Dances by Holsinger)

Wind Ensemble:
• 12 Major Scales, 12 Natural Minor Scales, 12 Harmonic Minor Scales and 12 Melodic Minor Scales
• Audition Piece (Postcard by Ticheli)

We're having auditions when we get back from break.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 6:08 pm 
Rookie
Rookie

Wow, you guys do a lot for auditions! I didn't have to audition this year, but for my band, auditions usually consist of playing three scales, a required piece, and sight reading.