Instructor's losing their Cool

Discuss hot topics about the world of marching percussion

Moderators: Gallagher, geefunk1026

TSLeeMMAPerc
New Recruit
New Recruit

Instructor's losing their Cool

Post by TSLeeMMAPerc » Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:18 am

My nephew joined his school's drum line this year. But his instructor (not going to mention his name) always throws sticks everytime he loses his cool. He doesn't throw it at his students, but i'm concerned what would happen, if he accidently hits one of his students.

His parents already called the school principal and complained about it, but seems like nothing happened, since he's still there.

What should be the next step, so that accident's don't happen?

Sixfdsteve
Rookie
Rookie

Post by Sixfdsteve » Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:38 am

As an instructor I find that kind of behavior totally uncalled for. In my eyes that is a very immature way to deal with frustration. Not to mention the possible saftey issue as well. I know it can be frustrating at times as an instructor but being in that position one must realize how to maintain composure. Just by your description it sopunds as if that instructor lacks the maturity it takes to teach. The students do not learn well in that kind of environment. As a performance sport, this shoud be something that a student should be proud and happy to do. If the instructor makes it hell for the students to be there,the whole point of what we do is lost. I woudl seriously have a talk with the director and instructor and get things straightened out right away. If you need anymore suggestions feel free to email me at Sixfdsteve@aol.com

Steve Elias
Percussion Caption Head
El Capitan High School
Lakeside, CA

geefunk1026
Support Staff
Support Staff

Post by geefunk1026 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 10:30 pm