Works like a “Charms”?

Topics and polls that cover the overall marching band activity

Moderators: Trumpet Man 05, malletphreak, Hostrauser, instrumental director

perang

Works like a “Charms”?

Post by perang » Thu May 08, 2014 7:37 am

My band program uses Charms Office Assistant to keep track of uniforms, equipment, and serves as a communication method to parents and students. Is there a comparative online system like Charms out there for marching band programs, maybe even for free? Or is there anything such as a social network (other than Facebook) that could function to help as a management system for the scholastic marching arts? :read:

Please post if you have any info

teacherken
Veteran
Veteran

Re: Works like a “Charms”?

Post by teacherken » Thu May 08, 2014 10:35 am

I've been using Charms now for the last 8 years. I've looked high and low for an equivalent product, and while there are a couple that can do many of the same things as Charms, there are none that do them all, and even those are in the same cost bracket.

A few friends have shared various Excel files that do things like the finances, uniforms, etc. And then they supplement that with a Google calendar of some sort, and Google docs, etc. But it lacks the cohesion, and frankly the convenience, of a suite of applications like Charms.

Most notably, for those unable to afford SmartMusic, the Recording Studio on Charms I found to be invaluable with various playing tests and assignments. The built-in metronome and tuner take away the excuses from students about being able to buy one. And the attendance feature, from a legal standpoint, is exceptional for my classes that exist outside of the normal school day.

We're just now really delving into the volunteer notification parts of the program, although the sign-ups have been exceptional. (I even use it for room sign-ups for overnight events.)

Ken

magicsax22
Rookie
Rookie

Post by magicsax22 » Thu May 08, 2014 12:41 pm